top of page

Project Overview

Personal Project and Skills Development Plan

Project Overview

My project with my artist's name titled “xphorik” is a euphoric, ambient, downtempo/dubstep/drum&bass music project. The name has come from the word euphoric as this matches the overall style of the music created within this project. It has many different aspects of different music styles, instruments, and world instruments. Over the next few months with my personal project, I will be aiming to produce an EP with roughly 3-4 songs. One of the songs from my EP I am in the process of writing lyrics to and am planning to hire a female vocalist to sing these for me the song is titled “A Soul Rediscovered” I would like to record and edit a music video for this. I would like to write lyrics and hire a vocalist for another song for the EP with the other 2 songs being instrumentals.


In this project the image I'm going for is all about the outdoors, nature, waterfalls and activities and sort of chilled and euphoric electronic music, I’m planning to record samples from nature to add to my music for example a percussion instrument made from throwing different sized rocks in a river. Use world instruments from a variety of different backgrounds.

My inspiration for music videos for this project is “Etherwood” I love his music videos and how he captures footage from his travels and nature and tells a story alongside his music.

I would say I want my songs to tell a story, but I want to do this in an unconventional way by telling a story through the music/instruments, with the occasional vocal to help guide the story.

This project will lead me on to my desired progression route to become a music producer/ sound engineer. as I will gain the necessary skills required and will have the opportunity to build and develop my skills.



Objectives

My chosen area will be a music producer and freelance in various areas of the music industry. I want to acquire skills and knowledge in different areas including music production, sound engineering, recording techniques, mixing and mastering techniques, album artwork designing, promotion and video recording, production and editing, This project will lead me on to my desired progression route, to be a music producer/freelancer in the music industry by requiring me to learn new skills relevant to this route, to take on and design a project plan, stick to my deadlines, and create a finished product. I will be using a website/app called click up which is a project management tool, this will help me to create deadlines, stick to them, and view my progress, as well as create mind maps, brainstorm ideas and have a calendar which tells me which task I’m currently doing, and when it has to be in by. This is going to help me a lot .

These skills will be broken down into objectives.


My objectives for the project are:

Product:

· To produce mix and master 3 – 4 songs for an EP with album artwork I can measure my progress by keeping a timetable or a chart on excel to monitor and stick to my deadlines, I will also be using an app called click up which is an online project management tool which will enable me to keep track of my progress easier , it has many different features such as a gant chart, mind map, calendar and also has a companion phone app so I can check in on my project on the move. this will be achievable to do by the final deadline, this is an important goal for the project the deadline for this will be the end of the project. This objective will help me on path of becoming a freelance music producer, I will gain lots of skills such as composition, mixing and mastering, and lyric writing, this is a big interest of mine, and I’m passionate about learning different production techniques and applying them to my music, after I have achieved this goal I will have gained lots of skills, that will help me in my future career.

· Record and edit a music video for one of the songs titles “ A Soul Rediscovered” I am going to do this with my go pro hero 10 and DJI mini 2 drone I will be able to record lots of nature scenes that match with the meaning of this song, I will be able to track the progress of this with my excel chart, and also the app Click up and by writing a storyboard for the music video with separate deadline for each of the scenes needed recording. I will be able to do this will add extra work to this project, but I still think this will get done by the deadline. I think it’s important for this project to have at least one music video, I want it to match the story of the song, but also the overall theme of the EP I am going to set a deadline of 2/2/2023 for this task. If I want to make it as a freelance producer, I feel like learning how to storyboard, record, and edit a music video will come in handy, as I will have a good portfolio of projects, I have completed to show to a label etc, it will also enable me to to create a music video for any of my songs, without the need to hire someone to do this for me.

· Write blog entries detailing my progress in this project I will be able to see I have achieved this by looking at the bog entries on my website, and making sure I do at least one a week , this goal is achievable , and is relevant to the project, as not only can I keep track of everything I have achieved the progress I have made and the skills have learnt , but it also gives my audience more of an insight to the project and he life of an artist if they wish to know more. The deadline for this will be towards the end of the project because I will keep updating these until they are finished.

Skills Development:

· I want to learn different production, mixing and mastering techniques and apply these to my project I will be able to do this by watching YouTube tutorials and reading books on techniques, I will be able to measure the success of the development of this skill by comparing the first song to the last song I have made and seeing the new techniques I action, this is a skill I will easily work on as I enjoy watching tutorials and reading about different techniques this is an important skill to improve on as it can really set you apart from other musicians and start of you career as a producer, and make your tracks sound professional.

· II want to improve video creation and editing skills I will do this by watching tutorials learning how to use my drone and Go pro to get the video footage I want, by learning and gaining skills in final cut pro, I will learn this as the music video progresses. I feel like this is relevant to the project and to my future career as a freelance producer as I will need to have video production skills in order to create music videos or promotional material for any future social media stories. I want to set a deadline of February 2th for this.

· I want to learn and improve on writing poetic lyrics that get the meaning across concisely and are relatable to others. I will be able to see improvement in this from the difference between the lyrics in my first song and the second song I want to write lyrics for, this will be attainable as I enjoy writing lyrics and getting my story across though lyric's is something, I'm passionate about. This skill will come in handy with my future career and this project as lyrics are a great way to represent the image of the EP and translate a story that’s relatable to the audience. I want to set a deadline for 20th January for this.

The Target Market

I think my target market is quite broad as both the younger generation and the older generation like drum & bass/electronic music and it includes lots of types of people under the bracket, I'll be focusing more on euphoric sounding music but under a variety of different styles and taking elements from multiple genre’s I believe there will be something to appreciate for the majority of people. Drum & Bass and electronic music in general has a big rave and party scene, and I feel like this project will target that audience more than say the audience a pop artist will get.

I think with the way my lyrics are written and the way my music is, a lot of people will be able to relate to the experiences as I am planning to write them in a way that can be taken differently depending on the person. Rather than an exact situation so people will be able to relate.

This project will be relatable to people who may be struggling with mental health.



Resources Required to Carry Out the Project

For this project I will need:

· A plan - so I know what needs to be done

· Deadlines – so I know when to complete the task by

· A microphone (I have a sure sm57 and a zoom H5) to record samples/vocals

· Laptop with access to the internet – in order to use a DAW and produce the tracks, as well as research different techniques and skills required to carry out the project.

· DAW Software such as FL Studio and VST’s – in order to produce mix and master my songs

· Adobe Photoshop – to create album artwork

· Serif Designer – to create album artwork

· Instagram, Facebook and other social media for my artists name for promotion- in order to promote my EP

· Camera (I have a Go Pro Hero 10) – I need this to record footage for my music video

· Final Cut Pro – I need this to edit my music video

· Midi Keyboard – I need this to play different plugins and compose my songs.

· Studio Monitors/ Studio Headphones – I need these in order to produce mix and master my songs, to a professional standard.

· Money (To hire vocalists, set up ad campaign and distribute my EP)

· Pen and paper – I’ll need this just for brainstorming ideas, and lyric writing ideas

· Drone - I need this to record footage for my music video

· VST’s – needed to play different instruments.

· Midi Keyboard – needed so I can play the VST’s like a piano

· Audio Interface – I need this to record samples form a microphone, and also to connect. The studio monitors and headphones to the laptop

· Akai MPC Live 2 – I’m going to use this to make beats, as a sampler, and effects pad for the vocals.

· Web Page – to update my progression in this project

· Mixer – To connect multiple microphones and mix the instruments correctly.

· Portable Microphone (Near Field Recording) – I’m going to use my zoom H5 for this, I need this to record samples from nature or out on walks, wherever I may be. It also acts as a portable audio interface.

· Mobile Phone – I will use this to keep track of my progress and stick to my deadlines set through the click up app

· USB Stick – I need this to store important data for my project

· SD Card – I need this as extra memory for my laptop

· Jack to XLR – I need this to connect a microphone to the Akai MPC Live 2

· 6.35mm Jack to Jack cablex2 – to connect studio monitors to the audio interface

· Wind Shield – so when I’m out near field recording the wind doesn’t interfere with the recording

· Tripod – to attach the portable microphone to

· Go Pro attachments – lots of attachment’s for different types of recording for example POV

· Portable hard drive – To store all my samples, project files, and any data related the project.



USP’s

The unique selling point of my project is that it’s alternative music that appeals to an alternative audience it’s related to tough times through life, and many people can relate to this, the artwork and focus of this project is all about a new start to life in a way. I’ll be writing lyrics producing, mixing/mastering creating album artwork designing a music video etc. all myself, so this is unique compared to how a lot of songs are made. I want to use world instruments and unique sounding samples that I record myself or have searched for online, along with different production techniques to make something that has never been heard before, something abstract. I’m thinking of it as a whole creative process and am aiming to compete with other artists by exploring different techniques and ideas and creating something completely different to the rest.


Opportunities for Future Monetization

There’s lots of potential opportunities for future monetization. Once I have completed my EP, I will post it on my YouTube channel and monetize the EP with YouTube’s ad feature. Also, on Spotify so I can earn money from streams. I will integrate it on TikTok and allow people to use the duet feature (which essentially self-promotes your song ) also make sure it’s widely available on social media like Instagram and Facebook, I will also make sure to monetize it on these social networks. I will also release the album for sale on my website and on bandcamp with an option to choose how much the person pay’s for it, with the minimum being £2. I’ll make sure a license can be bought so DJ’s are able to use it commercially and I receive royalties and I’ll upload it to BBC Introducing in hopes it gets some radio plays.


Limitations/Constraints


· Time is a big limitation for this project, so I’ll have t make sure I stick to my goals, and deadlines. I have all the resources needed to complete this project, so this shouldn’t be an issue. But If I do start to run out of time, I can produce 3 tracks instead of four, and possibly not make a music video as a backup plan.

· The video footage might be a bit of a struggle, but if I stick to my deadlines and make sure I get lots of footage to edit, this will be achievable.


· Writing lyrics for two songs might be a bit optimistic considering the time I have to compete the project, but I still think this is achievable as it’s something I enjoy doing, as a backup plan, I may only write lyrics for one song, but I am aiming for 2 songs with lyrics I have written.


· Music video may depend on the weather, whether it’s suitable for drone to fly, or it’s raining when I need a sunny scene.


· Although I have set deadlines for the vocals to be completed. Once I have sent the lyrics off to the vocalist to sing, the vocalist may take longer to record the vocals than my estimations, this may set the deadline for the vocals and the song back. This will be out of my control, so as a backup plan I will aim for one song with vocals and allow plenty of time between the time I send them off to be recorded, and the deadline for track one to be complete.











2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page